The Gardening Project….

10 years ago when we began working on the house, we were so excited that we were finally in the country and we had plenty of space for a garden, chickens, horses etc. Gary bought a Troy Bilt tiller and he tilled up a space, we amended the soil and planted a variety of vegetables. We were in the demolishing stage on our house and the garden became too much work and getting the house in a livable condition became priority. There was just not enough time for, watering, weeding, fertilizing, fighting the insects, harvesting and cooking/storing our crop. Recently a dear friend (Lauren) sent me a link to a video about a different way of gardening her family is implementing, it involves No tilling, Less wateringMinimal weeding, No fertilizing, and Less insect problems, as I watched it I became amazed by how simple it seemed and all I could say was WOW, I knew this is what I wanted to try right away. I asked my husband to watch and he was on board with it, he decided on a site, and began gathering all materials, in our case we had to build a fence around the area because we have had wild hogs come into our yard and destroy it, and occasionally the neighbors cows have torn thru the fences and tore up the yard as well. I would hate it if we had a beautiful garden going and come home one day to see it destroyed after all the hard work. Paul is implementing this in Washington State and he gets way more rain then we do in Texas so we know we will need to water more often and our site is on top of Bermuda grass which is one of the most tough to kill so we had to use cardboard as well. So this is what we have done so far… First, I laid out a layer of good top soil (we have sandy loam but I just wanted to add a little to help it out) about 2 yards, our site is 24′ X 24′ and Gary laid out where to install the post, dug post and then cemented them in place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then we added fence panels and a gate

We gathered free newspaper and cardboard  from a local recycling bin and began layering both , sprayed with water to help along the decomposing process…

It was a little windy that day, so used bricks to hold down cardboard temporarily, Lauren told us of a local recycling place where we got our free mulch, except for the drive and a great lunch along the way, it was worth it, considering we needed 6-7 yards and we will need more in the future as the mulch decomposes, what a great place! Then we laid on 4-6 inches of mulch, used 2 bricks on top of each other to gauge the height of the mulch.

Next , I wrapped the whole thing in some chicken wire(our chickens free range) and I hope to keep out small critters,we have armadillos,skunks,rabbits etc. and I just laid down some bricks along the outside to help keep the grass from growing in. I plan on building some planter boxes too. This is what it looked like.

Waiting game now

Waiting game now…

It has been 3 months and we have got quite a bit of rain recently, a few sprigs of nut grass has managed to make its way thru and was very easy to pull out roots and all, this morning I dug down into the mulch and the cardboard and newspaper have decomposed, looks like we have killed all the Bermuda grass (Yes!) this is what the mulch looks like now, I think it will be ready to plant this fall, gotta get my boxes done next!

Please, if your  interested, Watch This Video, warning it is 103 minutes but worth every minute of it and I hope you will watch it all the way thru, so grab  a cup of coffee/ tea, get comfy and enjoy, here is the link; http://backtoedenfilm.com/. Please check back with us to see the progress of this garden. You can follow me here.

If you like this post, please check like below, share it, pin it, add comment and I will reply to you, also follow me for future post..love me some followers 😀  Thanks for visiting, ” y’all come back now ya here ” (had to get that in) Hehehe! dododododo…dodo!…Green Acres is the place to be! I know you remember this!!!

Wait!…was that Petticoat Junction, or maybe Beverly Hillbillies????

Linking up with:  Farm Life at its Best,Funky Junk Interiors, Be Colorful, DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, Home Stories Ato Z, My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia, Knick of Time Interiors, Savvy Southern Style, A Bowl Full of Lemons, A Stroll Thru Life, DIY Dreamer, DIY by Design, Green Willow Pond, The 36th Avenue, The Shabby Creek Cottage, Chic on a Shoestring, Common Ground, Romantic Home, It’s Overflowing, I Heart Naptime, Keeping it Simple Crafts, DIY Home Sweet Home, The Farmhouse Porch, Lil’Luna, Creations by KaraFrench Country Cottage, From my Front Porch To Yours, Redoux Interiors, My Repurposed Life, VMG206

14 thoughts on “The Gardening Project….

  1. We’re still in experimental mode too! I think you changed the format a little since I visited your site, yes?? Looks great! Very visual. What part of Texas are you from? I’ve been to Austin twice. LOVED it. We live in Pennsylvania 🙂

    • Hi, Yes, this is only my 12th post and I am still learning more about my theme and adding and trying new things as I go,so glad you like it! We are from the South Central part of Texas, Love Austin also, actually Love Texas period…would love to visit Pennsylvania some time thou…;D Good luck to you with your garden, may it serve you well!!!!

  2. Smiling…. love this post. Also, that you pointed to the video. It is inspiring!! What a lot of work you saved not pulling up that Bermuda, and the soil looks beautiful under that mulch:) The one insect that we are battling with in this system is the pill bugs who love the mulch and moisture. So, trying to decide which natural method will work. Diatomaceous earth, beer in a shallow container, sluggo?

    Will enjoy watching your progress Cindy.

    • Hey Lauren, so glad you love the post and Paul is so awesome! Thanks for the warning about the “Rollie Pollies”..Haha..loved playing with them when I was a little girl…Please keep me posted on what method works for you…hate the thought of wasteing good beer on those little guys but if it works…we will share 😀 Thanks again…

  3. Oh wow, never saw this done, what an interesting idea. This will be a fabulous garden. Can’t wait to see it all come to fruition. Thanks tons for joining Inspire Me. Hugs, Marty

  4. I saw this video a year or two ago, and really want to do this, but don’t know of a free mulch resource nearby. I’ll be interested in how this turns out. Thank you for sharing it at to What We Accomplished Wednesdays. Have a great week!

    Hugs,
    Deborah
    Green Willow Pond

  5. Never saw this type of garden prep before. Looks like a great idea. I might try this around the perimeter of my garden to keep the quack grass from repeatedly coming back in and spoiling all my fun. THANK YOU! !!!!

  6. I’d been looking unsuccessfully for your recommended video for ages through my local library, and was thrilled to be reminded of it and see your link in this post. Thanks so much for sharing it. I watched it with interest this afternoon and plan to use the cover method for my new planting beds. I also learned from the video that I’ve been depleting the nitrogen in my new organic vegetable garden beds with the mulch I was digging into them. I’m so glad to know that now! Thanks again; what a great and useful post. I’m also bowled over by your remodel. It’s truly amazing work. I’m looking forward to reading more.

    • Thanks Laurel, I am so glad to share this video link that was shared with me, and I hope your gardens will be successful and provide you with the most delicious veggies!

Leave a Reply

